تُعد سلامة البيئة جزءاً لا يتجزأ من الرعاية الصحية، فتوفير بيئة سليمة صالحة للعيش أمر بالغ الأهمية للمحافظة على صحة السكان. ومن المجالات الرئيسة لسلامة البيئة التي تستدعي الاهتمام في قطر جودة الهواء، ومياه الشرب، وإدارة النفايات. وتُظهر بيانات منظمة الصحة العالمية أن تلوث الهواء يشكل الخطر البيئي الأكبر على الإطلاق الذي يهدد الصحة.

تركز استراتيجية التنمية الوطنية لدولة قطر 2011-2016 على التحديات التي تواجه تحقيق جودة الهواء. فالنسب المرتفعة للغبار، لا سيما في المناطق التي تكثر فيها العواصف الغبارية، بالإضافة إلى الملوثات المحلية المختلفة للهواء تؤثر سلباً على جودته وتتسبب بأمراض الجهاز التنفسي.

الانعكاسات‭ ‬الصحية

إن‭ ‬من‭ ‬شروط‭ ‬ازدهار‭ ‬المجتمع‭ ‬أن‭ ‬ينعم‭ ‬بالعيش‭ ‬في‭ ‬بيئة‭ ‬سليمة‭ ‬وصحية،‭ ‬خالية‭ ‬من‭ ‬الملوثات‭ ‬والسموم‭. ‬كما‭ ‬أن‭ ‬ضمان‭ ‬نظافة‭ ‬مياه‭ ‬الشرب‭ ‬مهم‭ ‬جداً‭ ‬للتمتع‭ ‬بصحة‭ ‬مثالية‭. ‬في‭ ‬المقابل،‭ ‬يؤدي‭ ‬الاستهلاك‭ ‬المتكرر‭ ‬للمياه‭ ‬الملوثة‭ ‬إلى‭ ‬الإصابة‭ ‬بحالات‭ ‬مرضية،‭ ‬مثل‭ ‬الإسهال،‭ ‬والزحار‭ ‬البكتيري،‭ ‬والكوليرا،‭ ‬والتيفوئيد،‭ ‬وغيرها‭. ‬بالمثل،‭ ‬يتسبب‭ ‬تلوث‭ ‬الهواء‭ ‬في‭ ‬بعض‭ ‬الأمراض،‭ ‬وفي‭ ‬هذا‭ ‬السياق‭ ‬تذكر‭ ‬منظمة‭ ‬الصحة‭ ‬العالمية‭ ‬أن‭ ‬الدول‭ ‬القادرة‭ ‬على‭ ‬خفض‭ ‬مستويات‭ ‬تلوث‭ ‬الهواء‭ ‬تتمكن‭ ‬من‭ ‬الحد‭ ‬من‭ ‬عبء‭ ‬الأمراض‭ ‬مثل‭ ‬السكتة،‭ ‬وأمراض‭ ‬القلب،‭ ‬وسرطان‭ ‬الرئة،‭ ‬وأمراض‭ ‬الجهاز‭ ‬التنفسي‭.‬

الاهداف‭ ‬الصحية‭ ‬المرتبطة بسلامة‭ ‬البيئة‭ ‬

تركز‭ ‬استراتيجة‭ ‬قطر‭ ‬للصحة‭ ‬العامة‭ ‬في‭ ‬العديد‭ ‬من‭ ‬مجالاتها‭ ‬الرئيسة‭ ‬على‭ ‬ضرورة‭ ‬تحمل‭ ‬الأفراد‭ ‬مسؤولية‭ ‬صحتهم‭ ‬بالتزامن‭ ‬مع‭ ‬إنشاء‭ ‬الاستراتيجية‭ ‬شبكة‭ ‬دعم‭ ‬تمكنهم‭ ‬من‭ ‬أداء‭ ‬هذه‭ ‬المهمة‭. ‬مع‭ ‬ذلك،‭ ‬تشدد‭ ‬الأهداف‭ ‬المرتبطة‭ ‬بسلامة‭ ‬البيئة‭ ‬على‭ ‬تولي‭ ‬السلطات‭ ‬المختصة‭ ‬الرقابة‭ ‬وفرض‭ ‬إجراءات‭ ‬وأنظمة‭ ‬تضمن‭ ‬استدامة‭ ‬السلامة‭ ‬البيئة،‭ ‬بحيث‭ ‬تصبح‭ ‬بيئة‭ ‬صالحة‭ ‬للعيش‭.‬

أشارت‭ ‬منظمة‭ ‬الصحة‭ ‬العالمية‭ ‬إلى‭ ‬أن‭ ‬البلدان‭ ‬القادرة‭ ‬على‭ ‬الحد‭ ‬من‭ ‬مستويات‭ ‬تلوث‭ ‬الهواء‭ ‬يمكن‭ ‬لها‭ ‬أن‭ ‬تقلّل‭ ‬من‭ ‬عبء‭ ‬الأمراض‭ ‬التالية‭:‬

الاهداف الصحية المرتبطة بسلامة البيئة

  1. الهدف الصحي المرتبط بسلامة البيئة 1 التعاون مع وزارة البلدية والبيئة لرصد وتحديد والقضاء على أية مصادر موجودة حالياً و/أو محتملة لتلوث الهواء تؤثر سلباً على صحة ورفاهية السكان
  2. الهدف الصحي المرتبط بسلامة البيئة 2 ضمان إجراء عمليات رقابة وكشف وإبلاغ فعالة ونوعية عن المخاطر المرتبطة بالمياه لتفادي تلوثها
  3. الهدف الصحي المرتبط بسلامة البيئة 3 دعم وتطبيق نظام فعال ونوعي لإدارة النفايات

Environmental health is a core component of public health. Providing a healthy environment in which people can live is essential in order to sustain a healthy population. In Qatar, the main areas of concern regarding environmental health include air quality, drinking water and waste management. Data from the World Health Organization shows that air pollution is the largest single environmental health risk in the world.

The challenges facing air quality are highlighted in the Qatar National Development Strategy 2011. High levels of dust, especially in a region where dust storms are frequent, along with various local pollutants affect air quality and lead to respiratory illnesses.

Health implications

For a population to thrive, it must have a healthy environment in which to live – free from pollutants and toxins. Ensuring clean water is paramount to supporting optimal health. Frequent consumption of contaminated water can lead to conditions including diarrhea, bacterial dysentery, cholera, typhoid and others. Similarly, air pollution can contribute to ill health. The World Health Organization states that countries that are able to reduce air pollution levels can reduce their burden of diseases such as stroke, heart disease, lung cancer and respiratory conditions.

Environmental health objectives

For many key areas of this strategy there is considerable emphasis on individuals taking control of their own health, with the strategy creating the support network to enable them to do this. However, the overriding focus of the Environmental Health Objectives puts the emphasis on authorities to monitor and enforce processes and regulations that will lead to the sustainability of a healthy environment in which population can live.

The World Health Organization states that countries that are able to reduce air pollution levels can reduce their burden of diseases such as:

Environmental Health Objectives

  1. EH1 Collaborate with the Ministry of Municipality and Environment and other relevant sectors responsible for environment health to monitor, identify and mitigate any existing and/or potential sources of air pollution that can have a negative impact on the health and wellbeing of the public
  2. EH2 Ensure effective and efficient monitoring, detection and notification of water related risks to prevent contamination
  3. EH3 Strengthen and implement an effective and efficient waste management system