تم تصنيف أكثر من 285 مليون شخص مصاب بضعف البصر عالمياً سنة 2010، منهم 39 مليون أعمى، ويُعد الماء الأزرق (الجلوكوما) المسبب الرئيس للعمى الثنائي في قطر (39٪)، فيما تبلغ نسبة الإعاقة البصرية حوالى 15٪ من إجمالي حالات الإعاقة.

وفي قطر، يبلغ معدل الانتشار المعياري للعمى الثنائي

بعد مقارنة الأعمار والجنس لدى السكان في سن الخمسين فما فوق 1.28٪، في حين يبلغ معدل الإصابة بالضعف الحاد في البصر وبضعف الرؤية 1.67٪ و 3.66٪ على التوالي.

في هذا الإطار، تم إجراء مسح اجتماعي في قطر سنة 2009 يتمحور حول دراسة نسبة وعوامل الإصابة باعتلال الشبكية في سن ال 40 فما فوق. وقد بلغ معدل الانتشار المعياري لهذا الاعتلال بعد مقارنة الأعمار والجنس 23.5٪.

الانعكاسات‭ ‬الصحية

من الممكن تفادي 80٪ من الإصابات بالعمى بمختلف أنواعه من خلال الوقاية أو العلاج، وتبلغ نسبة الأخطاء الانكسارية غير المصححة (42٪) وإعتام عدسة العين (33٪) العاملَين الأكثر قابلية للتلافي لضعف البصر. لا يمتلك المصابون بالعمى عادة القدرة على أداء الأعمال اليومية من دون مساعدة، ولذلك يحتاجون إلى دعم كبير من أفراد عائلتهم أو مقدّمي الرعاية. كما يؤثر العمى وقصور النظر تأثيراً كبيراً على جودة حياة الأفراد ويعرّض أسرهم ومَن يقدمون لهم الرعاية الصحية للضغوط.

الأهداف‭ ‬الصحية‭ ‬المرتبطة‭ ‬بالبصر

تم إطلاق خطة وطنية لصحة العين في قطر سنة 2014، تلاه إطلاق خطة عمل صحة العين العالمية للفترة 2014- 2019.

في هذا الإطار، يشير هدف الاستراتيجية المرتبط بالبصر تحليل عوامل الخطر التي يواجهها مرضى السكري المصابون باعتلال الشبكية، ما يدل على الحاجة إلى إجراء كشف طبي عالمي دوري للعين لمرضى السكري.

الشكل 14: أسباب العمى الثنائي في قطر
(المصدر: التقييم السريع للعمى الذي لا يمكن تجنّبه – 2009)

الأهداف الصحية المرتبطة بالبصر

  1. الهدف الصحي المرتبط بالبصر 1 إعداد برامج تثقيفية شاملة وفعالة حول صحة العين وتقديم خدمات الكشف الطبي للسكان المعرضين للإصابة بضعف البصر للحد من انتشار العمى

Worldwide, more than 285 million people were classified as visually impaired in 2010, with 39 million classified as blind.

In Qatar, the main cause of bilateral blindness is Glaucoma (39%) and visual disability accounts for around 15% of all disabilities.

The age and sex adjusted prevalence of bilateral blindness in Qatar’s population, aged 50 years and above, is 1.28% and the prevalence of severe visual impairment and low vision are 1.67% and 3.66% respectively.

A 2009 community based survey conducted in Qatar studied the prevalence and determinants of diabetic retinopathy (DR) in persons 40 years and older. When age and sex were adjusted, the study identified that 23.5% of the population suffered from DR.

Health implications

Up to 80% of blindness in adults is avoidable through prevention or treatment. The two most avoidable causes of visual impairment are uncorrected refractive errors (42%) and cataracts (33%). People who are visually blind are often unable to carry out everyday tasks unassisted, requiring a high level of support from family or carers. Blindness and visual impairment significantly affect the quality of life for individuals and put strain on both their family and healthcare providers.

Vision Objectives

A national plan for eye health was launched in Qatar in 2014 following the Global Action Plan 2014-2019.

The Vision Objective of this strategy has taken into account analysis of the risk factors among diabetic people with retinopathy that indicates a need for universal and periodic eye screening of patients with diabetes.

Figure 14: Causes of bilateral blindness in Qatar.
(Source: Rapid Assessment of Avoidable Blindness 2009)

Vision Objectives

  1. V1Establish comprehensive and effective eye health education and screening services for the at risk population to reduce the prevalence of blindness